Delaware Basin Map and Operator List

DELAWARE BASIN MAP

The Delaware Basin map shows how it extends from Lea and Eddie counties, NM, in the north down to Pecos County, TX, in the south.

Map of the Delaware Basin

WHAT IS THE DELAWARE BASIN

The basin’s areal extent covers 13,000 square miles, most of which is sparsely populated. The northern end of the basin lies in New Mexico, giving it exposure to federal land which typically carries a lower royalty rate compared the private leases in Texas and some regions of New Mexico.

The Delaware Basin is approximately 2,000 feet deeper than the Midland Basin. This increase in depth has caused, over a long period of time, the sediment to experience over twice as much pressure during burial. This is a leading factor in the stratigraphic discontinuities between the two sub-basins. 

DELAWARE BASIN DOWNLOADS

Wells Drilled Delaware Basin 2021

Delaware Air Permits

Delaware Pipeline Permits

DELAWARE BASIN OIL COMPANIES

The prolific oil reserves of the Delaware Basin have attracted the supermajors and leading publicly traded firms.  Delaware Basin oil companies also include many smaller independent exploration and production companies.  The following table lists top oil companies of the Delaware Basin by barrel of oil equivalent (BOE). The Delaware map shows the operation areas for the Producers

Producers Wells Drilled Delaware 2021Website Linkedin Page 
Eog Resources, Inc.276www.eogresources.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/eog-resources/
Devon Energy Corporation215www.devonenergy.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/devon-energy/
Mewbourne Oil Company190www.mewbourne.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/mewbourne-oil-co/
OXY USA Inc.150www.oxy.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/oxy/
Tap Rock Resources115www.taprk.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/tap-rock-resources/
Coterra Energy96www.cabotog.com
Conocophillips Company92www.conocophillips.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/conocophillips/
XTO Energy Inc.81www.xtoenergy.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/xto-energy/
Kaiser-Francis Oil Company71www.kfoc.net
Chevron U.S.A. Inc.70www.chevron.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/chevron/
Callon Petroleum Company57www.callon.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/callon-petroleum-company/
Matador Resources Company54http://www.matadorresources.com/https://www.linkedin.com/company/matador-resources-company/
Centennial Resource Production, LLC52http://www.cdevinc.com/https://www.linkedin.com/company/centennial-resource-development-inc./
Colgate Energy49www.colgateenergy.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/colgate-energy/
Diamondback Energy41www.diamondbackenergy.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/diamondback-energy-services/
Citation Oil & Gas Corp.40www.cogc.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/citation-oil-&-gas-corp./
Bta Oil Producers, LLC39www.btaoil.com
Spur Energy Partners LLC33www.spurenergy.com/
TITUS OIL & GAS PRODUCTION, LLC33https://www.titusoil.com/https://www.linkedin.com/company/titus-oil-gas/about/
Blackbeard Operating, LLC32www.blackbeardoperating.com
BPX31www.bp.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/bp/
ADVANCE ENERGY PARTNERS, LLC28https://advanceenergypartners.com/
PRI OPERATING, LLC27http://www.patriot-resources.com/
Franklin Mountain Energy LLC27
NOVO OIL & GAS TEXAS, LLC24http://novoog.com/
DJR OPERATING, LLC18https://djrllc.com/
AMEREDEV LLC17https://www.ameredev.com/operations
PDC PERMIAN17www.pdce.com/
Point Energy Partners13www.pointep.com/
APR OPERATING LLC12https://www.admiralpermian.com/
RIO OIL AND GAS (PERMIAN) II,LLC12www.rioog.com
CAZA OPERATING, LLC12
Jetta Operating Company, Inc.11www.jettaoperating.com
Longfellow Energy, LP11www.longfellowenergy.com
Enduring Resources, LLC10www.enduringresources.com
Pioneer Natural Resources Company10https://www.pxd.com/https://www.linkedin.com/company/pioneer-natural-resources-company/
CHISHOLM ENERGY OPERATING, LLC9
Burnett Oil Co., Inc.8www.burnettoil.com
Mack Energy Co.8www.mackenergycorp.com
OASIS PETROLEUM PERMIAN LLC8www.oasispetroleum.com
Stronghold Energy II8http://www.strongholdoperating.com/
CP EXPLORATION III OPERATING,LLC8
Tall City Operations LLC7
LUXE OPERATING LLC6https://www.luxeenergy.com/
Pride Energy Company6www.pride-energy.com
FAE II Operating LLC5
ASCENT ENERGY, LLC.4http://www.ascentenergy.us/
Avant Natural Resources4https://www.avantnr.com/#about-us
Flat Creek Resources, LLC4http://www.flatcreekresources.com/
JUNO OPERATING COMPANY III, LLC4
LOGOS OPERATING, LLC4
SOUTHERLAND JOE DON dba TAYLOR OIL CO4
Lime Rock Resources Iv-A, L.P.3https://www.limerockresources.com/
Upcurve Energy3www.upcurveenergy.com
ALCHEMIST ENERGY, LLC3
APC WATER HOLDINGS 1, LLC3
BOSQUE TEXAS OIL LLC3
BOYD & MCWILLIAMS OPERATING, LLC3
MARSHALL & WINSTON, INC.3
MURCHISON OIL & GAS INC3
OAK PRAIRIE OPERATIONS, LLC3
ARMSTRONG ENERGY CORP2http://www.armstrongenergycorp.com/?file=home
Bopco, L.P.2www.wellsfargo.com
Brigham Resources Operating, LLC2www.brighamresources.net
CAMINO NATURAL RESOURCES LLC2http://www.caminoresources.com/
Catena Resources Operating, LLC2https://www.catenares.com/
Seaboard Operating Inc2www.seaboardoil.net
HALCON OPERATING CO., INC.2www.halconresources.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/halcon-resources-corporation/
BOYKIN ENERGY LLC2
HALL GREG OIL & GAS LLC2
Manzano LLC2
NGL WATER SOLUTIONS PERMIAN, LLC2
SADDLEBACK EXPLORATION, LLC2
STEWARD ENERGY, LLC2
Tascosa Energy Partners, L.L.C2
TRIGO OIL AND GAS, LLC2
Bc Operating Inc.1www.bcoperating.net
Breitburn Operating L.P.1www.breitburn.com
Great Western Drilling Company1www.gwdc.com
SOLARIS WATER MIDSTREAM, LLC1www.solarismidstream.com
V-F Petroleum Inc.1www.vfpetroleum.com
WATERBRIDGE TEXAS OPERATING LLC10
Williams Oil Company, Inc.1www.williamsoil.com
Continental Resources1www.clr.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/continental-resources_2/
Forge Energy, LLC1www.forgenergy.comhttps://www.linkedin.com/company/forge-energy/about/
3:16 DISPOSAL SYSTEMS,SERIES LLC1
BAM PERMIAN OPERATING, LLC1
CPB WATER LLC1
DBM WATER SERVICES, LLC1
DUGAN PRODUCTION CORP1
FAIR OIL, LTD1
GOODNIGHT MIDSTREAM PERMIAN, LLC1
Gordy Oil Company1
OKLAND OIL COMPANY1
Permian Oilfield Partners, LLC1
RANGER 40 PETROLEUM, LLC1
Redwood Operating LLC1
RKR EXPLORATION INC1
RUCKUS ENERGY OPERATING, LLC1
San Mateo Stebbins Water Management, LLC1
SANBAR BRINE AND FLUIDS, LLC1
SCO PERMIAN, LLC1
SEAWOLF RSWD RESOURCES, LP1
Tacitus, LLC1
TRIUMPH ENERGY PARTNERS LLC1

DELAWARE BASIN PLAYS

Bone Spring (“BSPG”) / Avalon – The Bone Spring is typically divided further into 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Bone Spring benches. Each Bone Spring bench is comprised of an alternating carbonate-sand sequence. Generally, the Bone Spring has been developed more heavily to date in New Mexico than in Texas, and the 2nd Bone Spring has been the most heavily targeted of the three benches.

Wolfcamp – The Wolfcamp is typically divided further into Wolfcamp XY, A, B, and C benches. Generally, the Wolfcamp has been developed more heavily to date in Texas than in New Mexico, and the Wolfcamp A has been the most heavily targeted of the four benches.

Other – Since 2008, Delaware Basin Horizontals completed outside of the Bone Spring/Avalon, or Wolfcamp have generally targeted the Delaware Mountain Group (e.g., Bell Canyon, Cherry Canyon, or Brushy Canyon) or Barnett/Woodford intervals at Alpine High.

COUNTIES OF THE DELAWARE BASIN

The counties of the Delaware Basin stretch from Eddy county, New Mexico in the north to Pecos county, Texas in the south.  Population sizes range from less than 200,000 in Lea, Eddy, and Chaves Counties in New Mexico to the sparsely populated Loving County of Texas with just over 100 residents. The counties below are located in the Delaware map.

County Wells Drilled 2021
LEA689
EDDY431
REEVES358
LOVING290
WARD87
CULBERSON78
WINKLER50
PECOS27
CRANE21
SAN JUAN13
CHAVES6
STEPHENS4
BLAINE3
GRADY3
SANDOVAL3
SEMINOLE3
#N/A2
CARTER2
RIO ARRIBA2
CANADIAN1
CLEVELAND1
ELLIS1
LOVE1

CITIES OF THE DELAWARE BASIN

The cities of the Delaware Basin are spread out along its vast 6.4M acre area and include Mentone, a remote town in Loving County, Texas with a population of 29.  The largest city in the basin area is Odessa, Texas. The cities below are located on the Delaware basin map.

City Wells Drilled 2021
MENTONE289
ORLA214
PECOS172
PYOTE45
Coyanosa41
Verhalen41
MONAHANS33
Barstow29
KERMIT27
Wink19
Ft. Stockton1

Oil Gas Operators